Book Giveaway – Transparency by Frances Hwang

HB 2Today’s free book is a brand new trade paperback.  Published in 2007, 219 pages.  Here’s the synopsis from B&N

With a deceptively simple yet graceful style, and in the tradition of Lara Vapnyar, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Gish Jen, Frances Hwang captures the thousand minor battles waged in the homes of immigrants—struggles to preserve timehonored traditions or break free of them, to maintain authority or challenge it, and to take advantage of modern excesses without diluting one’s ethnic identity.

To enter to win leave a comment with your email address. 

To earn one extra entry you can post this on Twitter or post it on your blog.  Leave me a separate comment telling me you did.

Open internationally.  Winner will be picked on October 11th.

25 thoughts on “Book Giveaway – Transparency by Frances Hwang

  1. madwoman-doing-cartwheels says:

    Oh my, this does look like an interesting book. The author is new to me so off to Amazon I go to learn more. Thanks for the entry!

  2. Jafantunes says:

    Oh, and another one!
    You’re great, really!
    And I will say again, great cover and great synopsis!
    o_rei_de_havana AT hotmail DOT com

  3. Caty says:

    Oh, this one seems even better!
    I will loose my mind with such great giveaways!
    Please, count me in.

    catarina DOT magoito AT gmail DOT com

  4. Susy says:

    I’ve read Jhumpa Lahiri, and she is great.
    If Hwang is that good, than this is the book I have to be reading!

    Susy
    39{.}5susy{@}gmail{.}com

  5. Rosa Maria says:

    Another beautiful book!
    Now I will be wondering what the surprise for today is!
    😉
    See you soon!
    rosamariabarrosmaria AT gmail DOT com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s