What Book Is That? Quiz w/ a Special Armchair BEA Giveaway – CLOSED

Welcome to another Tuesday quiz.  You have until noon Saturday to submit your answers as a comment.  Comment will be hidden until I post the answers.  For more details and the leaderboard, go here.

This week will still be a part of the current round of quizzes, so you will be adding $ for the round winner and be eligible for a prize BUT today, for Armchair BEA, one lucky recipient will win a $15 Barnes & Noble giftcard. On Saturday, Gage will randomly choose one quiz participant to win.  To be eligible, you only need to guess, you don’t have to get any right 😉  The guessing is the fun part!

For all of you bookish people stopping by today, see if you can identify these books.  Just tell me the title (and author for extra points) in a comment.  And for one extra entry in today’s giveaway tell me what they all have in common.  Good luck!

You can click on the photo to enlarge.

ANSWERS-1.The Chosen by Chaim Potok   2.How to Buy a Love of Reading by Tanya Egan Gibson   3.Things I Want My Daughters to Know by Elizabeth Noble   4.Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez   5.The Writing Circle by Corinne Demas   6.Murder is Binding by Lorna Barrett   7.The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett   8.The Reader by Bernhard Schlink   9.This Book is Overdue by MArilyn Johnson  10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield   11.Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding   12.Villette by Charolotte Bronte

What do they all have in common?  They all have books on the cover!

Current Giveaways – closed

Well, the big day has come and gone but the giveaways are still open until October 19.  Thanks for letting me share some of my memories and lists with you as I reached a milestone birthday.  Here’s a list of the  stuff you can still enter to win.  My giveaways are always open internationally.  Most of them you just need to leave a comment.

$20 Barnes&Noble giftcard

Journal & chocolate

Emma by Jane Austen, Skinny Legs & All by Tom Robbins, Emerald Dreams by Caroline Bourne

Heartsick by Chelsea Cain

Four Seasons in Rome by Anthony Doerr

Face Forward by Kevyn Aucoin

Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt bu Beth Hoffman, How to Read Like a Writer by Francine Prose

Stacy’s pita chips & Jason soap

Currrent Giveaways

You must go to the individual posts to enter.  I will draw for a winner on Feb. 1.  Watch this space because there is a chance I’ll have one more free book to offer by Feb. 1.  Participate in my weekly quizzes for extra entries for both books (Quiz 1) (Quiz 2) (Quiz 3).

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman: Book Covera beautiful debut novel.  Enter to win here.

Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier: Book Coverfrom the author of Girl with a Pearl Earring.  Enter to win here.

Free Books (and a Puzzle) for December

Leave a comment, tell me which book or puzzle you want and I’ll get it to you for FREE either by mail or personally if I’ll see you soon.  The first one to request each book or puzzle wins.  Once you’ve ‘won’ I can get your shipping address if I need it.  Also, you can come back and get a free book every month if you want.  These have all been read a few times.

1. Silent Partner by Jonathan Kellerman – Alex Delaware novel.  Mass Market. Published 1989. 484 pages. Review here.  for Word Lily

2. Kiss Them Goodbye by Stella Cameron. Mass Market. Published 2003. 461 pages. Review herefor Calila

3. Comfort Woman by Nora Okja Keller. Trade Paperback. Published 1997. 213 pages. Review here.  for Em

I love jigsaw puzzles.  I’ll probably offer one a month through the winter months.  I chose this one for December because I think it would be a great one to do with kids home on break.  It has all of the Presidents, even our current one 🙂

4. United States Presidents jigsaw puzzle.  1000 pieces. 24 x 30 inches.  It’s been put together once.  for Jenny

Free Books for November

Leave a comment, tell me which book you want and I’ll get the book to you for FREE either by mail or personally if I’ll see you soon.  The first one to request each book wins.  Once you’ve ‘won’ the book I can get your shipping address if I need it.  Also, you can come back and get a free book every month if you want.  These have all been read a few times.free nov 09

1. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (mass market paperback) – It’s a classic! (B&N review)  For CeeCee

2. The Presence by Heather Graham (well read mass market paperback) – Romantic Suspense (B&N review) for Linda B

3. Tender Triumph by Judith McNaught (well read mass market paperback) – Romance (B&N review)  for Guatami

4. The Hottest State by Ethan Hawke (trade paperback) – First novel by the well know actor (B&N review)   for Nicole

As always, Happy Reading!

Book Giveaway – Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman

HB 6

Today’s free book is a like-new mass market of Leaves of Grass.  Here’s the synopsis of this classic-

Whitman is today regarded as America’s Homer or Dante, and his work the touchstone for literary originality in the New World. In Leaves of Grass, he abandoned the rules of traditional poetry – breaking the standard metered line, discarding the obligatory rhyming scheme, and using the vernacular. Emily Dickinson condemned his sexual and physiological allusions as ‘disgraceful’, but Emerson saw the book as the ‘most extraordinary piece of wit and wisdom that America has yet contributed’. A century later it is his judgment of this autobiographical vision of the vigor of the American nation that has proved the more enduring.

To enter to win leave a comment with your email address. 

To earn one extra entry you can post this on Twitter or post it on your blog.  Leave me a separate comment telling me you did.

Open internationally.  Winner will be picked on October 11th.

Book Giveaway – The Fortune Cookie Chronicles: Adventures in the World of Chinese Food by Jennifer 8. Lee

HB 5

Today’s FREE book is a brand new trade paperback.  Published 2008, 293 pages.  Here’s the synopsis from B&N

If you think McDonald’s is the most ubiquitous restaurant experience in America, consider that there are more Chinese restaurants in America than McDonalds, Burger Kings, and Wendys combined. New York Times reporter and Chinese-American (or American-born Chinese). In her search, Jennifer 8 Lee traces the history of Chinese-American experience through the lens of the food. In a compelling blend of sociology and history, Jenny Lee exposes the indentured servitude Chinese restaurants expect from illegal immigrant chefs, investigates the relationship between Jews and Chinese food, and weaves a personal narrative about her own relationship with Chinese food. The Fortune Cookie Chronicles speaks to the immigrant experience as a whole, and the way it has shaped our country.

To enter to win leave a comment with your email address. 

To earn one extra entry you can post this on Twitter or post it on your blog.  Leave me a separate comment telling me you did.

Open internationally.  Winner will be picked on October 11th.

Book Giveaway – Transparency by Frances Hwang

HB 2Today’s free book is a brand new trade paperback.  Published in 2007, 219 pages.  Here’s the synopsis from B&N

With a deceptively simple yet graceful style, and in the tradition of Lara Vapnyar, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Gish Jen, Frances Hwang captures the thousand minor battles waged in the homes of immigrants—struggles to preserve timehonored traditions or break free of them, to maintain authority or challenge it, and to take advantage of modern excesses without diluting one’s ethnic identity.

To enter to win leave a comment with your email address. 

To earn one extra entry you can post this on Twitter or post it on your blog.  Leave me a separate comment telling me you did.

Open internationally.  Winner will be picked on October 11th.

Book Giveaway – Travel Writing by Peter Ferry

HB 1Today’s free book is a trade paperback read once.  Published in 2008, 294 pages.  Here’s the synopsis-

Pete Ferry, our narrator, teaches high school English in the wealthy Chicago suburb of Lake Forest and moonlights as a travel writer. On his way home after work one evening he witnesses a car accident that kills a beautiful woman named Lisa Kim. But was it an accident? Could Pete have prevented it? And did it actually happen, or is this just an elaborate tale he concocts to impart the power of story to his teenage students? Why can’t he stop thinking about Lisa Kim? And what might his obsession with her mean to his relationship with his girlfriend, Lydia?

To enter to win leave a comment with your email address. 

To earn one extra entry you can post this on Twitter or post it on your blog.  Leave me a separate comment telling me you did.

Open internationally.  Winner will be picked on October 11th.

My Birthday Giveaways

This month on the 11th I’ll celebrate my birthday with my husband and then about a week later we’ll celebrate our 11th anniversary 🙂  Once a month I offer free books from my shelves and this month I’m doing something a little more fun.  Every day until my birthday I’ll be offering a free book or other freebie.  On the 11th, I’ll draw a winner for each of the days and announce my 11th giveaway.  It’s a surprise, but I think you’ll like it.

Here’s what I’m giving away…HB

You’ll have to come back each day to see what book is up for grabs.  I’ll post the links on this post each day, but you’ll have to go to the individual post to enter to win.  I’ll mail international.

1st – Travel Writing by Peter Ferry

2nd – Tranparency by Frances  Hwang

3rd – Mary Kay Indulge Soothing Eye Gel

4th – Fancy Pants by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

5th – The Fortune Chronicles:Adventures in the World of Chinese Food by Jennifer 8. Lee

6th – Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman

7th – Heaven & Hell:My Life in the Eagles (1974-2001) by Don Felder

8th – Bookmark Pens

9th – The Red Siren by M.L. Tyndall

10th – Wifey by Judie Blume