Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Killing Floor, by Lee Child

Cover ImageFinished 11-21-09, rating 4/5, mystery, pub. 1997

Jack Reacher series, book 1

They had come prepared.  They’d known there was going to be a lot of blood.  They’d brought overshoes.  They must have brought overalls.  Like the nylon bodysuits they wear in the slaughterhouse.  On the killing floor.

Chapter 12

Jack Reacher is an ex-military cop who is roaming the United States, seeing the country he barely knows after a lifetime (36 years) spent on military bases around the world.  A random memory of a story that his brother told him makes him step off the Greyhound bus and walk 14 miles to the small, pristine town of Margrave, Georgia.  As he is having breakfast at the diner he is arrested for the murder of two bodies found while he was on the road.  And this is where the fun begins.

Jack has an alibi, but that will not save him from dangerous time in prison or from people trying to frame him.  He does get some help from new friends, but he will have to rely on his own considerable skills to get him out of this mess.  And Jack is more than able to take care of himself.

I love graphic, gritty, and grisly mysteries.  I wouldn’t want to read a steady diet of them, but occasionally that’s all that will fit the bill.  This one fits all of those descriptors and a few more.  It is an amazing debut novel from Lee Child, it even won a few mystery awards when it was first published. 

I really liked this book and it can be read as a stand-alone novel.  There is nothing left hanging that will make you finish the series unless you need more of Jack Reacher.  And for me, Jack is not a guy I fell in love with.  He’s a hard man and while some of the book may have had too much detail, there was too little time spent addressing Jack’s sense of right and wrong.  So, I was left feeling a little uneasy about him. 

I liked this book and if you like the Jason Bourne type character then I think you will like this one.  I will read the next in the series to see the growth of Child and Reacher from book one to book two. 

This was a library book.

November 22, 2009 - Posted by | 4 Star Books | , ,


  1. I love graphic, gritty, grisly murders too, but only in books. I could never bear to watch them and recently discovered I don’t really like them on audio either. Great review!

    Comment by bermudaonion | November 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’ve enjoyed the first few Reacher books but haven’t kept up with the series. I hope you will keep us posted on your progress!!

    Comment by Staci | November 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. I like this type of books too. I hope to check out Lee Child’s books one day.

    Comment by Alice Teh | November 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. I was going to pass until you said Jason Bourne. I like that character a lot so I may give this a try. I looj forward to the rest of the series with you.

    Comment by Margot @ Joyfully Retired | November 23, 2009 | Reply

  5. I really dnt like graphic mysteries, but this one sounds really good!

    Comment by Veens | November 24, 2009 | Reply

  6. […] This is book 2 in the Jack Reacher series (Book 1) […]

    Pingback by Die Trying, by Lee Child « Stacy's Books | June 17, 2010 | Reply

  7. […] 4 in the Jack Reacher series (Book 1) (Book 2) (Book […]

    Pingback by Running Blind, by Lee Child « Stacy's Books | June 23, 2010 | Reply

  8. […] Floor, by Lee Child – Just started this series last year and am loving it.  My review here. 60. Rules of Prey, by John Sandford – A big fan of this series.  My love affair with Lucas […]

    Pingback by NPR’s top 100 Killer Thrillers « Stacy's Books | August 7, 2010 | Reply

  9. […] Reacher series book #5 (Book 1) (Book 2) (Book 3) (Book […]

    Pingback by Echo Burning, by Lee Child « Stacy's Books | April 13, 2011 | Reply

  10. […] Reacher series, Book 6 (Book 1) (Book 2) (Book 3) (Book 4) (Book 5) “A handshake isn’t enough,” she said.  […]

    Pingback by Without Fail, by Lee Child « Stacy's Books | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  11. […] 7 in the Jack Reacher series (Book 1) (Book 2) (Book 3) (Book 4) (Book 5) (Book […]

    Pingback by Persuader, by Lee Child « Stacy's Books | February 27, 2012 | Reply

  12. […] 8 in the Jack Reacher series (Book 1) (Book 2) (Book 3) (Book 4) (Book 5) (Book 6) (Book […]

    Pingback by The Enemy by Lee Child and why you should be reading the Jack Reacher series « Stacy's Books | January 23, 2013 | Reply

  13. […] 9 of the Jack Reacher series (Killing Floor) (Die Trying) (Tripwire) (Running Blind) (Echo Burning) (Without Fail) (Persuader) (The […]

    Pingback by One Shot by Lee Child « Stacy's Books | March 19, 2014 | Reply

  14. […] Reacher series #10  (Killing Floor) (Die Trying) (Tripwire) (Running Blind) (Echo Burning) (Without Fail) (Persuader) (The Enemy) (One […]

    Pingback by The Hard Way by Lee Child « Stacy's Books | May 14, 2015 | Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: