Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Mailbox Monday-December 21

mmb-300x282Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

I’ve only received a few books during the past few weeks but both look fantastic!

The Magician's LieThe Magician’s Lie by Greer McAllister (received from the publisher)  Goodreads has a current giveaway if  you want to try and win your own copy!

Water for Elephants meets The Night Circus in The Magician’s Lie, a debut novel in which the country’s most notorious female illusionist stands accused of her husband’s murder –and she has only one night to convince a small-town policeman of her innocence.

The Amazing Arden is the most famous female illusionist of her day, renowned for her notorious trick of sawing a man in half on stage. One night in Waterloo, Iowa, with young policeman Virgil Holt watching from the audience, she swaps her trademark saw for a fire ax. Is it a new version of the illusion, or an all-too-real murder? When Arden’s husband is found lifeless beneath the stage later that night, the answer seems clear.

But when Virgil happens upon the fleeing magician and takes her into custody, she has a very different story to tell. Even handcuffed and alone, Arden is far from powerless—and what she reveals is as unbelievable as it is spellbinding. Over the course of one eerie night, Virgil must decide whether to turn Arden in or set her free… and it will take all he has to see through the smoke and mirrors.

The Dress Shop of Dreams: A NovelThe Dress Shop of Dreams by Menna van Praag (received from the publisher)

For fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Adriana Trigiani, The Dress Shop of Dreams is a captivating novel of enduring hopes, second chances, and the life-changing magic of true love.

Since her parents’ mysterious deaths many years ago, scientist Cora Sparks has spent her days in the safety of her university lab or at her grandmother Etta’s dress shop. Tucked away on a winding Cambridge street, Etta’s charming tiny store appears quite ordinary to passersby, but the colorfully vibrant racks of beaded silks, delicate laces, and jewel-toned velvets hold bewitching secrets: With just a few stitches from Etta’s needle, these gorgeous gowns have the power to free a woman’s deepest desires.

Etta’s dearest wish is to work her magic on her granddaughter. Cora’s studious, unromantic eye has overlooked Walt, the shy bookseller who has been in love with her forever. Determined not to allow Cora to miss her chance at happiness, Etta sews a tiny stitch into Walt’s collar, hoping to give him the courage to confess his feelings to Cora. But magic spells—like true love—can go awry. After Walt is spurred into action, Etta realizes she’s set in motion a series of astonishing events that will transform Cora’s life in extraordinary and unexpected ways.

 

December 22, 2014 - Posted by | Mailbox Monday |

16 Comments »

  1. Both of those books look wonderful to me!

    Comment by BermudaOnion | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  2. I’ve been curious about The Dress Shop of Dreams for a while now. And while The Magician’s Lie is new to me, I’m definitely intrigued by it.

    Comment by Shoshanah | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  3. The Dress Shop of Dreams looks enticing…enjoy! Thanks for sharing, and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Comment by laurelrainsnow | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  4. Both look really good! Enjoy!!

    Comment by Tara | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  5. I’ve read your second book. A nice mix of magic in that one

    Comment by Mystica | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  6. Both books look really good! A female illusionist is unusual, so that really interests me!

    Comment by Vicki | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  7. Looking forward to your reviews of both books!

    Comment by Mary | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  8. Both books look terrific to me! I love the cover of The Dress Shop of Dreams. Happy holidays and happy reading, Stacy 🙂

    Comment by Lucy | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  9. They both look good, enjoy! Happy Holidays!

    Comment by mary Ann Langan | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  10. I like the summaries for both books. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk) | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  11. I have the Magician’s Lie. I need to read it. 🙂

    ENJOY all your books and holiday week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

    Comment by Elizabeth (Silver's Reviews) | December 22, 2014 | Reply

  12. I have been seeing The Magicians Lie a lot lately. I hope you enjoy all of your books.

    Comment by Pat @ Posting For Now | December 23, 2014 | Reply

  13. Both of these sound like winners.

    Comment by Leslie | December 23, 2014 | Reply

  14. Looks like some good ones!

    Comment by Heather | December 23, 2014 | Reply

  15. […] The Magician’s Lie by Greer McAllister @Stacy’s Books […]

    Pingback by Books That Caught Our Eye | Mailbox Monday | December 24, 2014 | Reply

  16. I have e-copies of both of these to read and review. I’m excited about them both as they sound good. Especially The Dress Shop of Dreams.

    Comment by Literary Feline | December 24, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: